About us


The BOWMAN Club, founded in 1999, is the UK corneal specialty group. It facilitates collaborative research, represents the subspecialty to external parties and hosts an annual meeting featuring the Professor David Easty Annual Lecture. Invited international speakers is an important aspect to this meeting. UK ophthalmologists with subspecialty interest in cornea and external eye diseases attend the annual BOWMAN Club meeting where latest advances and clinical updates are discussed with an aim to promote best practice in the management of cornea and external eye disorders. The BOWMAN Lecture(s) and proceedings will be published in BMJ Open Ophthalmology.


The organizing chairperson for the 2022 Bowman club is Mr Madhavan Rajan, Consultant Ophthalmologist, Cambridge University Hospitals, Cambridge, UK and the meeting, a face-to-face residential gathering at St Johns College, Cambridge on the 25th March 2022.

bowman 4.png

The 40th Annual Meeting of the British Association for Ophthalmic Pathology (BAOP) will take place 24th and 25th March 2022 at St John's College, Cambridge.

The organizing chairperson for the 2022 BAOP is Dr Dominic G O’Donovan, Department of Histopathology, Addenbrooke’s Hospital, UK.

The annual meeting of BAOP consists of a series of clinico-pathological case presentations (both human and veterinary), scientific research presentations, National Ophthalmic Pathology EQA discussion and the business meeting of BAOP.


The meeting is well attended by delegates from both UK and further afield. The delegates usually include ophthalmic pathologists, neuropathologists, pathologists with an interest in ophthalmic pathology, veterinary pathologists, ophthalmologists, trainee pathologists/ ophthalmologists, histopathology laboratory staff, research fellows and medical students with an interest in ophthalmic pathology. Delegates are encouraged to present interesting cases and their relevant research at the meeting. Trainees and students (including trainee pathologists/ophthalmologists, research fellows, MSc/PhD students and medical students) who presented at the meeting will be considered for the ‘Jean Campbell award’ for the best trainee presentation.